“Inspired by Art: Fall of a Giant” by Uvi Poznansky— After Goliath

Poznansky, Uvi. “Inspired by Art: Fall of a Giant”, (“The David Chronicles Book 5”), ADS, 2017.

After Goliath

Amos Lassen

When Uvi Poznansky undertook her King David project, she really was determined to let all of us know as much about the king as possible and she has done w wonderful job. First she wrote books about David and now she is presenting us with the artwork that was inspired by the biblical story of the man whom God loved even with his flaws. In this volume, “Inspired by Art: Fall of a Giant” we see a is a collection of art throughout the ages based on the story of David. This volume focuses on what happened after David’s victory over Goliath. Here we have sculptures, paintings, etchings, and manuscript illustrations that inspired Poznansky to write “The David Chronicles”. It is easy to see how this collection was the basis for a semester-long course analyzing the contrasts in viewpoints around the biblical story.

Instead of arranging the art by era, style and artist, Poznansky chose to do so historically by event. We see works by Ghiberti, Guercino, Caravaggio, Filippo Lippi, Gustave Doré, Rembrandt, and Chagall, Mantegna, Giorgione, Gentilleeschi, Vouet, Spinelli and as well as others.

The book is beautifully designed however, it is only available on Kindle. I would love to have the same art bound in a coffee table kind of book. Below is a look at the books that make up the entire series.

The series The David Chronicles includes the following novels:

  • I: Rise to Power
  • II: A Peek at Bathsheba
  • III: The Edge of Revolt
  • I+II+III: The David Chronicles

In addition, it includes the collections of art that inspired writing the novels:

  • IV: Inspired by Art: Fighting Goliath 
  • V: Inspired by Art: Fall of a Giant 
  • VI: Inspired by Art: Rise to Power
  • VII: Inspired by Art: A Peek at Bathsheba 
  • VIII: Inspired by Art: The Edge of Revolt 

IX: Inspired by Art: The Last Concubine 

Leave a Reply